Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Robin, 203 words )

This was so much fun! It was wonderful to see Vlad again and finally meet Colonel Ryabko. He taught us many things, especially about strikes, although applying his teachings is a whole 'nother story. (Give me a knife any day!) Many friends from all over the country were there and people came from Canada and even Singapore. There were so many people...fantastic! Uri did a great job translating, which couldn't have been easy, as Colonel Ryabko is a big joker and jokes are so hard to translate. But we understood just fine, as Colonel Ryabko is very expressive. There was a lot of laughing and everyone was very relaxed. Many thanks to Peggy and my (always patient) teacher Edgar at Fighthouse for hosting the seminar and the big party afterwards, with wonderful Russian food, lots of good strong wine, and Russian dance music [no comment ;-)]. This time, we did not do the crazy Russian falling-backwards-in-a-chair-trick we did at other parties, thank goodness! Perhaps we needed more wine! I wish that Colonel Ryabko could have stayed with us longer. Maybe I will go to Russia some day, but I don't think I will be rappelling down any cliffs any time soon. Большое спасибо....Robin


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-24 18:27:35
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Paul Bacanovic, 119 words )

This was by far the best martial arts training that I have ever received (and I have studied several different fighting styles over the past decade or two). First and foremost, we were lucky enough to have both Mikhail Ryabko and Vladimir Vasiliev with us. Mikhail and Vladimir’s knowledge and practical experience is unique. I have never seen anyone with their ability to explain difficult and elegant fighting concepts in such a simple and straightforward manner. However, what was truly remarkable was Mikhail’s ability to explain the philosophy behind Systema, and how that philosophy translates into the fluid movements, breathing, striking and weapon techniques that characterize this martial arts form. Thank you very much Mikhail and Vladimir.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-14 12:23:07
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Rachel Klingberg, 284 words )

Unforgettable, indeed! It's been more than a week, but I'm still "digesting" all I learned in those three days. Overall, precision and efficiency were what I remember most from the seminars. Mikhail stopped the class several times throughout the weekend to make this point, asking us to be more precise--"no wasted movement," especially with our strikes. Watching Mikhail demonstrating for the first time on Saturday, I marveled at his subtlety and precision, particularly with the knife disarms. He has this extraordinary stillness, and sometimes appears to hardly move at all, and always smiling. I was also very impressed by the fortitude of all the volunteers who helped with the demonstrations--many thanks to all of them. Please see my post to the forum for the full write-up. I hardly have the words to describe how just plain lucky I am to be training (and living) Systema. It's been such a positive influence in my life. I'm grateful to Mikhail and Vlad, not only for sharing their knowledge with us last weekend, but for bringing the gift of Systema to the Western hemisphere. Special thanks to our gracious hosts Peggy and Edgar for all their hard work, to the Fighthouse volunteers who helped out with registration and the banquet, to Yuri for translating Mikhail's words, and of course to the attendees, many of whom travelled also great distances to be with us. I want to extend a special and personal thank-you to my classmates at Fighthouse, especially to my favorite training partner, my mom, who has always been there for me, and also to Rob, Scott, Janice, Frankie, Denis, and most of all Edgar, for all the encouragement. Till we meet again, *vsego nailuchshego* (best wishes), Rachel


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-14 14:16:39
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Robert Cooksey, 242 words )

I have been practicing the System for only six months but in that short amount of time have experienced a profound shift in the way I experience the world through my body. The seminar in Manhattan was somewhat overwhelming. I experienced one particular eye opening moment on the second day when I realized one way in which time had been taken from me on so many occasions in the past. If you've ever been on the receiving end of one of those flurries of what seems to be more hands and feet than one person can wield, and your body feels as if it is passing through a sausage grinder and it can't comprehend how the next strike is always there waiting, then you know the feeling of which I speak (Systema instructors seem to specialize in this). Mikhail and Vladimir lead us through so many scenarios and observed and pointed out so much that I don't know how much I actually retained. Strangely enough, my body feels differently after the seminar, but I don't really understand what the differences are. After the array of shots I took there, maybe it's a bit less flinch and a bit more breathing (still not enough). I thank everyone with whom I worked and the Fighthouse crew for hosting us. Thank most of all to Mikhail for making the long trip and Vladimir for bringing him and Systema to North America. So much to digest.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-24 18:30:05
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Edgars Cakuls, 596 words )

It was a great gift and honor from V.Vasiliev to bring his teacher M.Ryabko to New York. Mikhail does not enjoy traveling, especially going so far as the USA and Canada. He prefers that students come to see and study with him in Moscow. It is hard to get him out of Russia because of his job. Mikhail told me that he was able to come overseas for such a long time because of special permission from Minister of Justice of Russia. So if during his visit in USA and Canada, Systema community and others will respond with great interest to see him again, than we can hope to get him here again for a longer visit. We had altogether 155 participants and 15 spectators at the seminars. Most of the people were Systema practitioners from around United States, but also in attendance were 9 Canadians, 1 Israeli (Hadas Drachli) and 1 Singaporean (Randall Siow). A great team of 19 Systema instructors attended the seminars: Denis Dmitriyev (CT), Ed Whalen (CA), Brad Scornovacco (CO), Andre Baarsma (DE), David Merrell (FL), Saulius Puzikas (FL), Peter Annazone (FL), Robert Green (NY), Mark Jakabcsin (SC), Richard Clear (TN), Kaizen Taki (WA), Yuri Talalaev (AZ), Wesley Manko (WI), Brad Scheel (WI), Frank Filleti (NY), Vali Majd (BC), Emmanual Manolakakis (ON), Scott Connor (ON), and Kevin Secours (QC) were very helpful in teaching less experienced practitioners. Thanks to all known heroes like Juri Talalaev (as the great translator, too), Scott Connor, Kaizen Taki, Saulius Puzikas, Brad Scornvacco, Curt Boyle, and all the unknown heroes who offered their bodies--and saved the lives of others! My student Sergei Maslikhov, who we observed as he was deeply "blessed by Mikhail," is still not showing up for classes! My partner and friend Peggy was upset that I ordered so much fancy Russian foods and many of them were left untouched?! Is it Russian food scarier than punches from Mikhail? Should I serve American foods instead? It was unusually hot and humid weather, like in the Russian bath, for these seminars, not like other years in NYC, but did not make our event less enjoyable since Vladimir and Mikhail did their c-o-o-o-l things. Good step by step instructional material was presented. Our authorities just blew our minds with their simplicity, professionalism and sense of humor. We never got tired...even we were tired! Simple things like correct breathing let us handle punches, become stronger, more relaxed, and eliminate the remains of Vodka from our bodies. Except me, since there is never too much liquor but sometimes too little proper breathing, I was a lazy bastard on Sunday morning and did not get covered completely! This was my first time that I have ever met Mikhail and felt his heavy arm on my fragile shoulders. I am not talking about his punches....I've known Vladimir for years. He is very wise person and sees everything...and gets you everywhere...Mikhail is nevertheless a high-caliber military professional who does not give you inch either...it does not matter if you attack him armed or empty-handed, one person or many people simultaneously...you have to pay for your stupidity instantly! For example, during the Aiki Expo, he demonstrated some punches on me and explained in Russian...He got me in jaw while I was looking to Valerie for translation..."Sorry," he said, smiling innocently. "I did not know you do not understand Russian..." Vladimir's and Mikhail's teaching, demonstrations, and goodness to us were priceless. Thanks to everybody for joining us at this unforgettable event. Hopefully we will again meet our masters in NYC on June 2-4, 2006.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-15 23:31:09
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by hadas, 404 words )

i just came back recently to Israel, yet memories of the seminar will stay in my mind for a very long time.my body thanked me for coming to the seminar ..and so here am i thanking you. i must admit, i always saw Mikhail Ryabko on DVD's and yes, i have heard about special effects before..u see it, but the mind can't accumulate it. till the seminar, just standing next to this person make u feel as if you have all the knowledge, if you just listen. maybe it's the confidence he gives, that makes you feel you can really make it, maybe it's because of his genuine smile (mmmm, no, it's definitely not because of his rank or life experience or his knowledge or experience or his punches or his wisdom right?.. :-) i was happy and honored to get a lesson from him, it felt as if i haven't done one decent punch till that day and i cant wait to meet him again..and by the way, moscow is closer to israel then NY so i will be more then happy to come to moscow too and beside that i do need to re find my russian roots, there are there!, somewhere... Vladimir wrote in his book that when u practice you dont need to be so serious and tense because then you will not have energy to act in a real serious encounter . valdimir does that completly, in his work he is smiling and relaxed while he punches u, and just by looking at his students u can see how greater teacher he is. all his senior student always smile, and happy to teach you if you just ask, scott and emanuel were so patience with me that in a certain point i was not really sure if it's coz i am blond and u know, they need to speak s l o w l y ? or they just are amazing patient people... :-) and of course last but not least!, edgars and peggy, my teacher and my sifu. thank you for everything, the teaching and the support, it is always good to come back home, to fighthouse. ps my friends, gave me all this compliments how i look healthier and one friend said, " hadas, do u study a russian "killing" art or a russian "healing" art?" well we all know the answer to this question arent we?


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-18 07:54:12
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Brendon M., 85 words )

This was my first New York Seminar and the second Seminar taught by Vladimir. Everything about the experience was phenomenal from the specific tactical maneuvers (i.e dynamic joint breaks) to the fundamental exercises to the dinner on Saturday, the list goes on and on. The sessions were both extremely informative but also extremely enjoyable. It is certainly a pleasure learning from Vladimir with his amazing demonstrations, very effective exercises, and the fun yet serious environment he sets. Truly a great couple of days of Systema.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2008-06-02 21:55:25
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Gregory, 139 words )

I attended the seminar in NYC. Even though it was a lot to absorb for a complete novice, I feel like I gained a solid base and now I'm eager to learn more. The opportunity to learn from an instructor at your elite level was a tremendous experience. My friend observed the seminar and afterwards stated that Systema was a skill that all police should have. He equated watching you teach as watching Mozart compose. It was an excellent comparison. I just wanted to thank you, and also all the others participants who at their own expense took extra time to get me heading in the right direction. I found a Systema school and plan on getting more proficient. I look forward to meeting you again in the future.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2010-02-02 18:25:09
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Arend Dubbelboer, 152 words ) www.systema-rma.nl

I thank Vladimir, Valentin, Valerie and everybody who helped for this great Breathing seminar. Everything we did was so essential, deep, prefound and at the same time so simple. My students ask me how the seminar was and I tell them it was everthing and even more. There is much more understanding in why and what we are doing. Personal it change my work in a whole different level. In what I see and feel, I can preceive now more in my self and can see (preceive) more in others. It feels the work has become more honest if you work inside yourself whitout loosing the world around you. I'am still working at the many, many, many information i'll got in this seminar. Writting it down and giving it a place in my live. Bless God, for giving me the change to join and understand a seminar that was so amazing. Arend


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-16 10:43:34
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Takahide Kitagawa, 58 words ) http://systemablog.blog54.fc2.com/

I was looking forward to the seminar. It was a wonderful content more than the expectation. I learnt some kinds of japanese martial arts. but no other style could teach about breathing,deeply,effective,clearly.This seminar restarted my "systema life". now I look forward to next "for experienced" seminar. I wish to express my gratitude to Vladimir, Valentin, and the staff.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-13 11:23:54
Displaying 131 to 140 (of 271 reviews) <  Previous  ... 11  12  13  14  15 ...  Next  >