Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by hadas, 404 words )

i just came back recently to Israel, yet memories of the seminar will stay in my mind for a very long time.my body thanked me for coming to the seminar ..and so here am i thanking you. i must admit, i always saw Mikhail Ryabko on DVD's and yes, i have heard about special effects before..u see it, but the mind can't accumulate it. till the seminar, just standing next to this person make u feel as if you have all the knowledge, if you just listen. maybe it's the confidence he gives, that makes you feel you can really make it, maybe it's because of his genuine smile (mmmm, no, it's definitely not because of his rank or life experience or his knowledge or experience or his punches or his wisdom right?.. :-) i was happy and honored to get a lesson from him, it felt as if i haven't done one decent punch till that day and i cant wait to meet him again..and by the way, moscow is closer to israel then NY so i will be more then happy to come to moscow too and beside that i do need to re find my russian roots, there are there!, somewhere... Vladimir wrote in his book that when u practice you dont need to be so serious and tense because then you will not have energy to act in a real serious encounter . valdimir does that completly, in his work he is smiling and relaxed while he punches u, and just by looking at his students u can see how greater teacher he is. all his senior student always smile, and happy to teach you if you just ask, scott and emanuel were so patience with me that in a certain point i was not really sure if it's coz i am blond and u know, they need to speak s l o w l y ? or they just are amazing patient people... :-) and of course last but not least!, edgars and peggy, my teacher and my sifu. thank you for everything, the teaching and the support, it is always good to come back home, to fighthouse. ps my friends, gave me all this compliments how i look healthier and one friend said, " hadas, do u study a russian "killing" art or a russian "healing" art?" well we all know the answer to this question arent we?


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-18 07:54:12
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Brendon M., 85 words )

This was my first New York Seminar and the second Seminar taught by Vladimir. Everything about the experience was phenomenal from the specific tactical maneuvers (i.e dynamic joint breaks) to the fundamental exercises to the dinner on Saturday, the list goes on and on. The sessions were both extremely informative but also extremely enjoyable. It is certainly a pleasure learning from Vladimir with his amazing demonstrations, very effective exercises, and the fun yet serious environment he sets. Truly a great couple of days of Systema.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2008-06-02 21:55:25
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Gregory, 139 words )

I attended the seminar in NYC. Even though it was a lot to absorb for a complete novice, I feel like I gained a solid base and now I'm eager to learn more. The opportunity to learn from an instructor at your elite level was a tremendous experience. My friend observed the seminar and afterwards stated that Systema was a skill that all police should have. He equated watching you teach as watching Mozart compose. It was an excellent comparison. I just wanted to thank you, and also all the others participants who at their own expense took extra time to get me heading in the right direction. I found a Systema school and plan on getting more proficient. I look forward to meeting you again in the future.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2010-02-02 18:25:09
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Arend Dubbelboer, 152 words ) www.systema-rma.nl

I thank Vladimir, Valentin, Valerie and everybody who helped for this great Breathing seminar. Everything we did was so essential, deep, prefound and at the same time so simple. My students ask me how the seminar was and I tell them it was everthing and even more. There is much more understanding in why and what we are doing. Personal it change my work in a whole different level. In what I see and feel, I can preceive now more in my self and can see (preceive) more in others. It feels the work has become more honest if you work inside yourself whitout loosing the world around you. I'am still working at the many, many, many information i'll got in this seminar. Writting it down and giving it a place in my live. Bless God, for giving me the change to join and understand a seminar that was so amazing. Arend


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-16 10:43:34
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Takahide Kitagawa, 58 words ) http://systemablog.blog54.fc2.com/

I was looking forward to the seminar. It was a wonderful content more than the expectation. I learnt some kinds of japanese martial arts. but no other style could teach about breathing,deeply,effective,clearly.This seminar restarted my "systema life". now I look forward to next "for experienced" seminar. I wish to express my gratitude to Vladimir, Valentin, and the staff.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-13 11:23:54
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Achille, 186 words )

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to attend the Breathing, Health, and Combat Seminar on Nov 20th. I can only say that it was an absolute amazing and mind blowing experience. The information provided by Vladimir and Valentin is so useful not only for Systema but for increasing your level of health and can be easily shared with members of your family and friends. I would recommend the seminar to anyone as it will definitely take you to new levels of understanding. Like many lessons in Systema the true fight is within ourselves and how we deal with our own fears. This Seminar not only reinforced that concept but explored many ways to help overcome them and build ones psyche and spirit. Valentin and Vladimir are so sincere and genuine it was a true pleasure learning from them. I would like to express my sincere thanks to them both (and of course Valerie) and I am honored to of been able to take part in a truly insightful and life changing event. I would highly recommend this seminar without hesitation or reservation to anyone no matter the experience level.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-16 11:36:29
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by David Orman, 154 words ) www.cflsystema.com

This seminar was exception. Much different than the prior one I attended in May. More detailed and technically oriented. I also greatly appreciated the small group size and thus, personal attention from Vladimir. With 30 or so students, he was able to work 1-on-1 and make adjustments and needed corrections, allow us to move forward on our path. Each day was built upon the prior one; that is, we learned the ABCs prior to words, prior to sentence structure. For example, proper structure and breathing was taught prior to working with strikes, knifes etc. I appreciated the individual instruction, the group energy and the exceptional material presented. Breathing correctly really is the common thread through all the work in Systema -- from knife training to kick defense and everywhere in between. This seminar is THE standard for Systema breath training. It is a must for all who have a passion for this wonderful art.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-09 13:18:33
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Gaston Pratt, 356 words )

I'm not one to blow smoke so, when I first learned of the Seminar, I thought "great another one of Mikhails' students co-teaching with Vlad. Just two days before the seminar I learned there would be Vlad only. I gave a shoulder shrug and thought to myself "I'm in it regardless of who shows up or not". As I sat on the mat in the first few minutes of the seminar I felt a little disappointed that Valentin, the guest instructor, had not shown. That feeling left rather quickly moments after I saw Vlad walk into the room. He gave me a feeling of comfort, possibly due to his composed manner and my familiarity with him. Vlad had set up a video conference to receive instruction everyday and giving us exposure to Valentin. It was the next best thing to being there and worked very well. The pace and movement was done so well I left calm but energized every evening. Snacks were provided at lunch and in the evening as well as the handing out of notebooks and pens for note taking. I am still attempting to sort through the entire weekend of information. Breathing is life, I was once told. This seminar gave me a new perspective and plenty of information on breathing which I am still unable to completely absorb. I feel as an ant placed in a jar and having a few grains of sugar poured on itself and thinking how wonderful this is. Then over the course of three days having a whole box of sugar poured into the jar and at first thinking, "wow this is great", but then realizing, how am I going to digest all this and who knows how long it will take me. It's great to have but I can only eat a grain at a time. That being said, given all this sugar, I hope to one day become a very fat ant and can't wait for the next meal.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-11-20 17:39:05
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Glenn Murphy, 271 words ) www.revolutionselfdefense.com

In a word: phenomenal. In two words: life-changing. As always, Vladimir delivered far above expectations. Which, for me, were pretty high to begin with. I learned more about what the System really is in these three short days than in all of my previous years of study combined. Vladimir expertly coached us through hours of non-stop walking, running and movement drills. All the while, we focused on matching breathing perfectly with motion, and using the breath to dissipate all physical and emotional tension as we worked. I gained an all-new understanding of what tension is, and how the breath is the indispensable key to free, natural movement - in a martial arts context or otherwise. Meanwhile, Valentin - in a pioneering "Skype Systema class" experiment, led exercises and drills from Russia, generously imparting vast reams of his expansive knowledge on breathwork for health, recovery, maintaining calm under attack, and more. At the end of it all, I returned home feeling happy, unassailably calm, and more solid, somehow. I feel like At the risk of sounding dramatic, I feel like I've received an invaluable gift, the value of which I've only just begun to appreciate. This seminar was a humbling and exhilarating experience. Through it, I've realized just how little I knew, and how much I still have to learn. I'm looking forward to a lifetime of study and self-discovery using the tools Vladimir and Valentin have provided. My heartfelt thanks to everyone who made this event possible. And thanks, too, to all the friends - old and new - I worked with last week in Toronto. Great to see you all.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-11-24 09:54:53
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by gene smithson, 322 words )

Systema is a simple martial art. It stems from a simple method of developing a human being. This is not to say that it is easy, because it is not. There are no belt progressions to mark your progress and another kata or technique to learn. These things are added to, are superficial to...you. Systema asks us to understand ourselves. "Oh I do" check the box and whats the next move or topic. Nope, sorry grasping mind. There is only and ever a deeper understanding of ourselves. Going into this breathing seminar I was so excited. Finally the secrets revealed that would make it easy for me to do the magical things that Vlad does, that Konstantin does, that Mikhael himself does. Day one, walk and breathe and study myself. What!? What is this!? We do this all the time. Frustration begins to creep in...and then I see, the frustration is causing tension, it is tension and now no technique can help me. But breathing can, prayer can. I give myself over to Vlad and Valentin and do the exercises they say do...slowly slowly the mystery is beginning to unravel. In my mind I am back in Tuscon with Konstantin exhorting, clubbing, demanding that we study OURSELVES. I am hearing Vlad, "You must study your tension." breathe breathe breathe. Valentin's voice and face, you must breathe. Vlad, who I love so much, valiantly not allowing himself to become frustrated with us. "Tension", he says and points. Breathe and breathe and breathe. At the end of the three days, I have some new drills for sure, and they are excellent ones yes, deep ones. But, mostly I have a new humility. How stubborn I am, how weak and vain and prideful. And I am understanding the Systema is for developing the WHOLE person, that breathing is a fundamental tool we have for evolving ourselves...maybe maybe I am ready to begin studying Systema. gene


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-11-25 17:00:02
Displaying 131 to 140 (of 266 reviews) <  Previous  ... 11  12  13  14  15 ...  Next  >