Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

Knife Master Class ( by Jose Rodulfo, 271 words )

Most of the class was spent on dynamic-type work. I was so happy about the article that Vladimir posted after the seminar on training because there are times when you may hear on the news that someone calmly walked up to a group or a single person, and begin to stab or shoot and you ask yourself how can this happen. I have come to the conclusion with my experience from Sunday's class, that for most people's psyche it is hard to identify a low level threat as being a threat until it is too late. Rolling back my mental tape I found that Vladimir had covered this lesson on the previous day with a few specific drills, which did not make their way into my subconscious until that experience. Static training with the weapon from various distances and positions should be a vital part of ones training regime, which will allow ones psyche to quickly identify various types of low level threats, some of which can be deadly. I also noticed most of my training partners were quite good at identifying tension, but I was able to trick them quite easily due to the fact that they became greedy once I offered to them my control tension. These seminars are very helpful due the fact that you meet and train with people of all types of skill levels, i.e. some are beginners and some are experienced. At times the beginners offer more challenges due to their awkwardness. Through it all, the best part of that day for me was seeing Vladimir’s amazing work. Vladimir, you and your organization are a true blessing.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2017-02-27 17:21:45
Vladimir Vasiliev seminar in Mexico City ( by Alejandro Franco, 29 words )

It was an incredible event, certainly I left me with many things to think about (things for the better) :)


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2016-03-15 16:10:39
Vladimir Vasiliev seminar in Mexico City ( by David Vargas Castillo, 1101 words )

Seminario de Vladimir Vasiliev en México. Lecciones. - - Día 1 - Muy temprano comenzó mi jornada del sábado, ya que el lugar en dónde me hospede estaba al otro extremo de la capital, exactamente a dos horas de dónde sería el seminario, la falta de costumbre a los viajes dentro de la capital, hicieron que me debilitara, pero, al iniciar el seminario y poder ver y sentir ese ambiente de camaradería y de relajación restauraron y dispararon mi ánimo y mis energías al tope, al llegar al gimnasio sede, entrar y encontrar rostros conocidos y desconocidos pero muy familiares, llenos de camaradería te llenan si o si el tanque de energía. Vladimir aún no llegaba, y me intrigaba y me emocionaba conocerlo; sería tal como en los vídeos? Si lo saludo que le digo? Como lo saludo? Que tan alto será? Que tan fuerte? Mientras estaba calentando crecía más ésta intriga, y más preguntas surgían, y de repente entró Vladimir junto con Valeri, Sergey y Josafad; Vladimir ese maestro que tanto admiro, por su ideología, por la sencillez, por brindar su conocimiento, por su sentido del humor. Entró y simplemente las preguntas se fueron; saludó a unos compañeros, hablo con ellos y después llegó a la zona donde yo estaba, nos empezó a saludar y hablar un poco, fue tan natural y tan familiar su saludo que simplemente fue como si saludara a un viejo amigo. Depues de un rato comenzamos con lo esencial: la respiración, ahí nos explicó como el aire es la principal fuente de energía para nuestros músculos, nuestro alimento principal y esencial, y la forma adecuada de consumir éste alimento. Tensión y relajación junto con más ejercicios de respiración, fue lo que siguió; depues empezamos los ejercicios de movimiento y de percepción de los cuerpos de los compañeros, movimiento, sensibilidad, preparación para recibir y dar golpes, cuchillo etc... Los compañeros y amigos siempre sacando una sonrisa al comenzar cada ejercicio, que conforme iba transcurriendo el seminario más relajados y más sensibles de nuestros movimientos nos encontrábamos. Salimos a almorzar y depues más ejercicios, entre más pasan los minutos te vas sintiendo cansado pero no agotado, como si cada ejercicio te llenará de energía. Vladimir nos muestra movimientos, y su sentido del humor; como bien dicen una persona con sentido del humor demuestra gran sabiduría. Den sus golpes con fé, con alegría, que sean un regalo para su compañero, así que sean generosos den buenos y grandes regalos pero siempre con amor!!!! Golpes, golpes y más golpes, eso es demoledor, eso es sanador, golpes muy ligeros, otros más fuertes, otros muy rudos, otros más pesados, otros que te irritan, pero no los tomas personales, los compañeros nunca los hacen con la intención de lastimar; entiendes, sientes y sabes que estas aprendiendo. Ustedes son unas grandes personas, se han golpeado y aún así no hay violencia, son unos buenos seres humanos recuerden eso. Al finalizar la jornada se hace un anuncio de una cena que se llevará a cabo en un restaurante brasileño, que al anunciarlo no se hacen esperar las bromas por parte de los compañeros brasileños. - - Día 2 - Llego nuevamente al gimnasio donde es el seminario, el ambiente de camaradería no cambia y las risas se oyen de igual manera, Sergey con látigo en mano pasa por el gimnasio, y todos sabemos que significa, en un lugar del Gimnasio masajes con el látigo a dos compañeros varios de nosotros vemos como los realiza, se ve tan intimidante y tan relajante que quieres intentarlo, pero por desgracia el tiempo no da para eso, Vladimir entra nuevamente con esa amabilidad, con esa gran familiaridad, con esa tan tranquila y tan alegre sonrisa, empezamos. Vemos en el transcurso del la primera parte, respiración, movimientos con cuchillo, preparación para dar y recibir golpes, movilidad, etc... En cada demostración, de los ejercicios, existen las risas, los chistes, y sobre todo los auch!! y los ouhh!! por las demostraciones con los compañeros, cada demostración y explicación tiene algo que te llega al profundo, te cambia la perspectiva acerca de los movimientos que haces, de la manera en que te ves y ves a los otros, en cómo piensas, en que sientes. La llegada de varios instructores internacionales hace que las jornadas sean muy enriquecedoras, cada compañero te da algún tip, o haces algún movimiento y te piden que se los expliques; me siento en las nubes, tanta relajación tanta amabilidad, tanto ejercicio, es grandioso!!!! Llega el descanso y Vladimir y Valeri reúnen a los instructores y a los instructores en capacitación para darles indicaciones, yo me quedo con las ganas de escuchar esa conversación; como me hubiera gustado presentar ese examen!!!!! no por ego, sino por el gusto de transmitir a otros estas grandes lecciones que tanto han cambiado mi vida, sé que algún día lo haré, tal vez empezaré a llenar mi alcancía desde ahora. Regresamos del descanso y vemos más del programa, pero sé cambia un poco, vemos estructuras, movimientos fluidos con los compañeros, respiración de restauración, golpes... Vladimir como suele hacerlo, viaja al rededor del gimnasio viendo el trabajo de los compañeros, corrigiendo errores o profundizar la lección, siempre con una sonrisa y mucha calma que aveces ni siquiera notas que está junto a ti. En una ronda se acerca a mi compañero y a mi, ve nuestro trabajo, nos felicita y corrige pero me deja una lección mucho más grande que sólo la correccion, es acerca de la esencia de Systema Es simple, y hacerlo es simple y debe ser simple. Pero se necesita trabajar. En ese momento mi cabeza voló. Pasa el tiempo y continuamos trabajando, y llega la hora de finalizar, todos estamos agradecidos, nos llevamos algo de todos, algún chiste, alguna caída graciosa, algún golpe bien dado, alguno bien recibido, alguna memoria y mucha relajación, así como grandes lecciones. Recuerden esta atmósfera de camaradería, no hay violencia, busquen estar siempre así. El seminario termina, todos sacamos fotos, me uno a los abrazos, al intercambio de teléfonos, Facebook. Me acerco a Vladimir para agradecerle, y le pido a un compañero nos saque una foto que nunca logra sacar con mi celular, Vladimir con humor me pregunta si es un celular o una cámara por lo pequeño de tamaño, me pide verlo y le enseñó que es un celular, me dice que le gusta y le gusta el fondo de Clint Eastwood. Un abrazo muy amigable, le vuelvo a agradecer y me despido con una gran sonrisa. Gracias Vladimir, gracias Dios por todo éste maravilloso viaje, que aún no termina, viaje que vas haciendo que encuentre camino a cada paso. Muchas gracias y miles de bendiciones.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2016-03-21 12:11:31
Vladimir Vasiliev seminar in Mexico City ( by Gabriel Enrique Cánovas Saladaña, 210 words )

El grna día se hizo presente, de nuevo tengo la oportunidad de aprender de Vladimir Vasiliev, los día pasaron de forma muy rápida y pudimos estar en este gran evento con uno de los grandes entre los grandes por su amabilidad, cortesía y humildad ante todo como un gran ser humano. Para mí en lo particular estudiar systema es un antes y un después en mi vida, es un nuevo enfoque que cambia mis viejos paradigmas. Aunque he dejado de competir hace ya mucho tiempo y hacer un cambio en mi vida al llegar al estudio de las artes marciales rusas ha sido un gran impacto en mi persona. Agradecer es lo que queda después de las enseñanzas recibidas por Vlad, los camaradas participantes en el seminario, los ejercicios, la respiración que es la esencia del systema, aprender a estar relajado con buen ánimo, dejar de lado el ego, aprender a ser más humilde y aceptar la gran fragilidad humana. La fuerza de la vida en cada soplo, la apertura mental y espiritual que en todo momento debe estar presente, la búsqueda incanzable del autoconocimiento, del autocontrol del dejarse ir con confianza. Esto no tiene precio. Y apenas comienza el camino, hay que recorrerlo con paciencia y sabiduría. En hora buena, gracias maestro.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2016-03-24 22:48:38
STRIKES IN A FIGHT, with Instructor Master Class ( by Spiro Spanos, 100 words ) http://www.victoria-systema.com/

Excellent training at this event! The work was simple in that all could participate, but also deep enough that it had much to improve to my 11 years in training Systema. Participation was well spirited and I was able to work and learn from all my training partners. Vladimir was very helpful in answering questions and inquiries, though it takes self-reflecting and practice to understand his answers. I'm very glad to have made it the 4.4k kilometers to this event, the work is far reaching into life and I bring all that I can into our school in Victoria BC.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2015-08-26 19:41:55
STRIKES IN A FIGHT, with Instructor Master Class ( by Denis D, 678 words ) www.ctsystema.com

It's 3 weeks passed after the Strikes in the Fight seminar in Toronto Systema Headquarters, but I am still overwhelmed with this event. I do not know if it's the crowd of 120 people from 40 countries around the world where I met my old and new friends, hospitality of Vladimir and Valerie, or huge amount of information presented for the 2 days. I think, these all factors made me feel 10 years younger after we completed the seminar. However, the one factor which stuck in my head, it's how well and logic Vladimir can present the complex Striking topic to crowd of students who could understand and successfully apply it at the end of seminar ( everybody was moving and striking against opponents with knife and without). We started with relaxation breathing on the floor slowly tensing and relaxing our body than we tense and relaxed different parts of the body and finally we were giving different tension on in different parts of the body, it looked first easy, but it was hard to accomplish and control. After breathing we did a lot of static exercises like pushes up from the floor and walls concentrating on keeping wrist aligned and twisting them in and out, learning to give directions in the punch. Pushing your opponent without loosing a balance or over tensing your body. Engaging only necessary muscles to complete your pushes or strikes, we practice to push person quick 3 to 5 times without overcommitting and over stressing. We learned how to see a person and his intention trough body telegraphing, controlling tension in the shoulders that was a key to see the confrontation is coming. We were pushing and pushing each other, sometimes punching just for fun or as Vladimir explained that sometimes you need to hit person with penetration to the stomach or solar plexus lightly just enough that person learn how to take a strike and how to recover with breathing. So we punch,punch and double punch. Also, Vladimir noticed that we concentrated on upper body but we completely forgot to control our lower body and legs. He gave us proper walking and relaxing exercises to be light and swift on our feet. It helped me very much on the second day as we went to more dynamic exercises. We were on the roll, we moved,we pushed, we punched doing this from different directions, distances and positions. Fighting 2,3,5 guys and were were fighting in the crowded, standing, crawling but punching anytime and anywhere. Then Vladimir introduced the knife in the fight and we became a little scary and tense, it was funny the knife actually created tensions in both partners, the one who was holding knife got happy but work like a robocop with tense hands, and no knife opponent got a little scary and forgot how to move. However, Vladimir showed us a lot of demonstrations when you can work through your tension and fear using breathing, relaxing movements with short but destructive strikes. We are slowly picked up the pace and soon we pushed and later punched one or two attackers with the knife on the move. It was continuing non stop action, fun,energetic and practical. I would like to thank all my partners who worked with me and who punched me to make me more humble, especially Peter from FL who explained the fist penetration in the body like a bullet and took wind out of me while I was trying to figure out the bullet trajectory compare with the fist, my German friend Tom with whom we exchanged lots of punches and who was very swift and invisible with the knife, my old friend Martin who corrected my mistakes and been just danger Martin, my bodies Peter, Joe and Jonathan who helped me in the training and outside it to be patient with me and have fun together, and many many new and old friends. Thank you very much Vladimir and Valery,and their hardworking daughters for your hospitality, unrested support and encouragement. My family and I grateful to God that he gave me a chance to meet you in my life.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2015-09-09 14:32:29
STRIKES IN A FIGHT, with Instructor Master Class ( by Carlos Guzman, 578 words )

Striking into Relaxation Recently I participated in the Strikes in a Fight Seminar held by headquarters in Toronto. It was two days of intense training with Vladimir Vasiliev and amongst 150 participants from all over the world including many senior instructors, old and new friends. A big Systema family. It was not until my drive back home that I started reflecting on the material covered at the seminar. A lot of fresh information to put into practice and shared with others for many classes to come. Normally, I will take notes of important points during demonstrations; golden nuggets of wisdom, some "aha" moments I have when I finally get something or write down tips and suggestions from senior instructors and other fellow practitioners. But not this time. This time I wanted to absorb what was taught, feel the lesson and let my body remember. Oh, and the body does remember right there during training or the next day for sure. The theme was, you guess it, strikes. We learned about the structure of a strike, the delivering of a strike and receiving a strike. Amongst these were variations such like striking in one spot, moving and striking, striking and takedowns, striking multiple attackers, knife work and strikes and striking tension into relaxation. Here is where I discovered my breakthrough. Throughout the demonstrations, as Vladimir walked around us, you could hear him say things like you should be relaxed and comfortable when striking. Move, escape then strike. Move closer to your partner or too much tension in the strike, too hard or too soft, relax your shoulders, you moved too soon or too late. For many, it's frustrating especially if you're starting in Systema. However, there lays the lesson, the understanding, the individual breakthrough that each participant experienced at one point during the seminar. Vladimir took the time to address each question hands on and when he was done, you could literally see the light bulb of understanding turning on many like myself had their own AHA moments...the golden nugget of wisdom. What I got from it was to relax, have fun and go with it. Just when I stop thinking about what we were doing and just moved, then my movement was more relaxed, more natural and comfortable. I learned to move into a place where I feel comfortable then do my work with whatever was available in front of me without being forceful or having to beat my partner down. Not having an intention to do something to my partner, allowed me to relax and have fun while taking and receiving strikes. The movement became smooth and the strikes more powerful and effortless. The intent to strike the person creates tension in my body, into my movement and it is transferred back to my partner. Neither will be able to do their work effectively because one is thinking about protecting himself from injury while the other thinks about taking him down. When I strike relaxed, I could see all my options. When I strike with tension I cannot see anything but the intention to disable my partner's movement in any way possible. When you’re relaxed and comfortable, you feel good about yourself. It is reflected on your posture, your attitude and ultimately in your movement. Relaxation brings the best of us to share it with our training partner with love and care. Because when we strike our partner in this way, you will start seeing great improvements in your Systema.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2015-09-14 15:01:38
Strikes with Vladimir Vasiliev ( by Jose R., 169 words )

Systema's seminar on strikes was another great opportunity to see Vlad's ability to teach, train, and guide. His amazing skill to offer subliminal words of wisdom that reach to my subconscious; words that seem to come to me exactly when needed, this makes his teachings a gift that keeps on giving. In this seminar during the session where we were trying to stamp our training partner's feet, there was a moment when I felt there was no way to gain the upper hand and all of a sudden, from the depths of my consciousness I heard Vlad's voice "Disrupt his breath" and my body just followed the instruction. I now had total control. Another instance while doing push and strike exercises, I was able to reach in further causing my training partner's strikes to become a mere powder puff. These seminars are priceless because they answer the need of so many, each one hosts a relative United Nations as Systema HQ Toronto operates under inclusiveness and integrity.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2015-04-06 16:59:04
Vladimir Vasiliev in Bern, Switzerland ( by Patrick van het Nederend, 85 words )

It was nice to see you in Bern. Once again it was an amazing experience! It was very basic build up but advanced at the same time. Perhaps it is my understanding of Systema that slowly is gaining but is was perfect to see the build-up in breathing, holds, strikes and knife work. And keep it simple and founded in the 4 pillars! Working on that ever since more and more. Letting go of tricks. It is quite an honour. Saving up for summer camp 2016!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2015-03-03 22:17:30
Vladimir Vasiliev seminar in Florida ( by Gamal Newry, 225 words )

I want to say thank you for an excellent event in Tampa, as usual Vlad detailed teaching and practical skills and information was much appreciated. From the first day to the last beneficial knowledge was shared. During Fridays Breathing Class, Vlad referenced training for Martial Arts - Healing - Health, very powerful statements as they stayed with me during the entire weekend. It suggested to me the need in life to break down, build up, and be able to sustain oneself throughout the transitions. I think the opportunity to train with other liked minded people is important for personnel development. The variation in skill level helps you to learn what works and what does not. It helps to keep you humble and the need to share as you help correct those and be corrected. The after class fellowships were also very good as many of us shared stories and experience not just about Systema but about life. This I think is important as Systema should be about life not just about the sweat of training sessions. To be able to transcends lessons learnt in class and apply them to life completes and proves training as we train for life and the real world. Not the other way around. I look forward to more opportunities to train and grow in my skills, thank you very much.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2013-12-27 14:41:15
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 255 reviews)  1  2  3  4  5 ...  Next  >