Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Aya Watanabe, 68 words )

Many Thanks to Vladimir and to all the guys who made this seminar possible. This was great experience for me (and my daughter). I learned importance happy workout with humor and smile without being hurt. This seminar had best atmosphere of the participants that I experienced till now in Japan. It must be because there is your being. I look forward to the seminar of the next year!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-07-24 07:50:03
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Kaz Okuuchi, 103 words )

Dear Vlad Thank you for coming to Japan for the excellent seminar. From the series of training I began to understand the importance of breathing from body , not from knowledge. I also understand that if you relax , you can cope with anything. And opponents are not creating problems but person himself are creating problem inside himself. I love systema because systema is exactly same as living in real life. Any systema training can lead you to the happy and better life. Thank you Vlad and members who organize this wonderful seminar. See you in Tronto and we are also waiting for you in Sep 2010. Kaz Okuuchi


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-07-23 19:39:40
TORONTO MAY 2009 3-DAY SYSTEMA SEMINAR ( by Scot Schwichow, 92 words )

This seminar was outstanding. I learned a lot about how to devolop continous movement and its application in a combat scenario. We also did a lot of work on how to develop the sensitivity needed when dealing with armed opponents and multiple attackers. It was also a great exeprience to work with people from all over the world and to see the skill of senior students and instructors. In my many years of martial arts training, this is with out a doubt the most fun and worthwhile seminar I have ever attended.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-05-20 00:26:22
TORONTO MAY 2009 3-DAY SYSTEMA SEMINAR ( by Jose Ramos, 33 words )

I attended your semilar May 16 - May 18 and I would like to say in 30 years of doing martial arts. I have never had such a great experices. Thank You


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-06-16 19:43:10
TORONTO MAY 2009 3-DAY SYSTEMA SEMINAR ( by David Orman, 756 words ) CFLSystema.com

Doing something that makes you happy stimulates your body. It is as if your body is rejuvenated in a special fashion. Doing something that brings joy stimulates your heart. It goes beyond the physical and provides needed fuel for your heart, your emotions, your psyche. Doing the thing that brings passion into your life is the only way to communicate with your soul. It is as if your soul says, “This is it. This is why we are here. Not necessarily to do this but this is the vehicle to learn your life lessons and to help others.” Mission accomplished Toronto was the place. Systema is the vehicle. My trip to Toronto was one of the most enjoyable activity I have ever done. It was jammed packed with adventure, meeting people from around the globe, interacting with others, speaking with 2 of the greatest martial artist and having more fun than I ever imagined. My expectations were sky high. They ended up being far exceeded. After settling in the day before and getting a peek at Toronto, our training began on Saturday. Vladimir Vasiliev, co-founder of Systema and Sergey Ozherelyev, special forces trainer were the stars of the show. To say these men are talented is like saying the ocean holds a few gallons of water. Aside from the talent off the scale, one thing that struck me was the humility each one has. No titles such as sensei, shihan or even a Mister was required. First names will work. No bowing. No anything. Just 2 very special, very skilled individuals who wanted to teach us what they could in the time that we had. It was the personification of leading by example. They also treated everyone — from the beginners to the most senior of students — with the utmost respect. No exceptions. Unfortunately, I have not seen this in many arts or schools. Dan Linden Sensei was one exception as was my first karate teacher, Gary Michak. Other than that, the “big fish in a small pond (like Orlando)” is way too common. Here was Vladimir, the best martial artist I have ever seen, once again, setting the perfect example. I will always remember this and am committed to applying this valuable lesson. Saturday’s lessons were hand to hand combat and a major emphasis on relaxation and proper breathing. The 2 latter issues would be THE theme throughout the 3 action packed days. To watch Vlad and Sergey in action was a thing of beauty. They were as loose as a Cirque du Soliel performer yet would strike like a cobra wielding a sledgehammer. The speed and power was outright scary. For them, it was normal. As mentioned, amazing skill and humility were inseparable. Sunday’s theme was knife fighting. I have never seen or participated in any art that deals with knife defense so effectively as Systema. (I would put Silat #2.) A number of us, particularly yours truly brought home a number of “souvenirs” from that day. They heal fortunately and even more so, act as a powerful reminder of what TO do and what NOT to do. I will get it eventually. . . . Monday was working against multiple opponents. Again, the image that stands out was watching these 2 masters working in concert against 2, 3 and 4 opponents. Despite being out numbered, they never stood a chance. Overall it was beyond spectacular. I loved every second of it, though time passed much too quickly. I learned a great deal and was highly inspired to continue my path of training. A few thoughts really stood out in addition to the aforementioned. Firstly, I appreciated training and going to Canada with my friend Carlos. Via this art, we have developed a close friendship and for this, I am most appreciative. Secondly, though I already knew this, I was once again reminded how exceptional my teacher truly is. David Merrell is someone who is a master of the art of Systema. It is an honor to work with him and to be his friend. For this too I am most grateful. Finally, Lisa really pushed hard for me to attend this event. She knew even before I did, how much this would impact me. Thank you once again. You have made my life so much sweeter. I left with expectations and returned with a bunch of bruises, improved skills and an aware of my passion, a direction that I will follow ad finitum. I have never been more happy in my life!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-05-29 18:51:53
TORONTO MAY 2009 3-DAY SYSTEMA SEMINAR ( by David Orman, 221 words ) CFLSystema.com

Toronto: Part 2 After this past experience in Toronto, I have drawn the following conclusion: When we do what we love, what we are deeply passionate about, we awaken to the infinite world of possibility and magic. In the world, we create exactly what we want and swim in the ocean of the magnificent feelings resulting from our creation. We achieve, we excel, we express the highest and best version of ourselves. When we operate from the lens of fear or boredom, we are enslaved in the world of routine. Each day is like the last and the next. Gray is the only color we see, not because others don’t exist but rather as a consequence of our choice. This is what is meant by free will. It is the responsibility that shadows freedom. This is the most magnificent gift our Creator has given us – the opportunity to take our day and together, mold it how we wish. This is really the only choice we need to make but make no mistake, we need to make it. If we pretend that we “can’t” make it or if we lie to ourselves saying it it “out of our control,” it will be made for us by us, or at least the lower version of us. How will you create your d


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-05-29 18:53:28
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Mexico ( by Antonio Capulin, 47 words )

The best seminar of martal arts I have ever been. Simple, very complete and acurrate. Full of real thing and an opportunity to be aware of our own flaws in order to improve it. Congratulations to Mr. Vasiliev and all the staff. Thank you very much !


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-04-08 13:28:19
Vladimir Vasiliev seminar in Austin - Texas ( by JOe Duckworth, 96 words )

As a former military officer and a team leader of urban operations training, and a second generation martial arts instructor I recommend that all instructors as well as martial artists no matter what style ...attend seminars presented by Vladimir. Knowledge is an ongoing experience and you can learn something different each time you train. Those of you that are skeptical or critical need to train with an open mind and absorb what is useful. During the seminar and breaks, Vladimir answers questions works with people and leads by example. He always makes time to assist others.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-01-26 23:13:37
Vladimir Vasiliev seminar in Austin - Texas ( by Robert Burke, 364 words ) http://www.battlebornsystema.com

Dear Vladimir, Thank you for your recent (January 23-25, 2009) weekend seminar in Austin Texas, hosted by Systema instructors Gene Smithson and Fabian Hewitt. The Embassy Hotel conference rooms were plush, featuring carpet, fresh fruit and chilled water. Friday I attended Fabian’s Systema for Kids Seminar and watched his instructors teach a very joyful and exuberant group of boys and girls. Fabian is onto a strong teaching trend, employing Systema movement, breathing, punching and wrestling with non-critical, incremental learning for kids. Sort of a blending of Montessori teaching encouragement with the youthful joy I saw in children at Mikhail’s school in Moscow! Friday evening Denis Dmitrivey and Yuri Talalaev gave us a warm up with breathing and moving exercises. Much needed after our long travels to get there. I was surprised by and happy to see many students and instructors from Mexico attending. Saturday you taught us knife work, which is a real treat for me. You keep adding subtleties to movement, theory and enjoying the moment. Knife work seems to increase emotions, and with emotions mistakes, and with mistakes ego, and with ego opportunities to rid same. Sunday you taught us punching techniques and theory. Amazingly throughout the seminar, a very great spirit of calm seemed to be emanating somehow, which kept things from getting out of balance. As a student of two and a half years, each seminar seems to add layers of enlightenment. One layer I especially enjoy, is that the punches neither hurt nor bruise me as when I was a beginning student. In my original tenseness, I was told I would bruise but later not. This I didn’t believe, but now I believe. As you told us, we are all too tight in certain circumstances. Thank you, Vladimir, for helping us to be flexible, yet strong; flowing with the river of life, yet courageous; increasing in skills in body, soul and spirit, yet mindful that above ever excellence must be humility. Your grateful Systema “instructor in training,” Robert Winkler Burke Reno, Nevada P.S. Thanks for giving me opportunities to tra


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-02-03 10:00:28
Vladimir Vasiliev seminar in Austin - Texas ( by Denis Dmitriyev, 1146 words )

It took me a couple weeks to process information, which I gathered through stubs, pock and punches at Austin seminar. I will try to share my memorable experience, which stuck in my head and the body either working or watching Vladimir at this event. Vladimir introduced new warm ups: breathing exercises with different body positions, on the sides, on the stomach, on the back with leg 180 degrees over your head with the tensions and relaxations in these positions. I noticed that body tried to tense right by the way when it something unusual introduced to it and it takes some concentration of the breathing and your attention to really control and relax body as Vladimir noticed , these exercises were used to heal people, who do not feel comfortable in confined spaces. The other challenge was a progression of the tensions holds during breathing on your back or set up, pushups and squads, I was doing this not a first time but it was still took an afford to control your body, when you exhaling or inhaling keeping the tension in arms leg or stomach, relaxing or not everything or just parts of it. I did realize after seminar that all these exercises were preparing us for the future work waiting for us ahead. The seminar topics were: knife fighting and strikes. I already heard that a lot of guys wanted to see some amazing Vladimir’s work with a knife as he taught this topic in his Toronto seminars. Tried to dig from my memory the exercises which I understand deeply later and they stuck my head as discovery the new sights of Systema. We started from knife drawing from any position and any places on your body with destructions from your partner as well as a completion, who will be first to draw. It seems like a simple exercise, but I felt like my body getting over exited and tense even from the thought to be the first who draw the knife, and this tension and concentration were obviously giving up my intentions. In addition I realized that person could cut him self even drawing his own knife, which some guys experience in the real life. However, There were warm ups, which reminded me about control over the body tension. Later working with Vlad and observing Vladimir’s work on the drawing, I found that his speed and invisibly come from smoothness and fluidness of his motions. Well, who watched movie “The Shooter “, Mark Walberg who plays Marine Scout sniper, teaching his partner to operate bolt action rifle says” Slow is Smooth, Smooth is Fast”, that is probably well described the Vladimir’s work with the knife. The smoothness was a big player on the drawing and implementing the knife. Also, the Patience is a virtue, I notice even Vladimir draw the knife, he was patiently waiting for the right moment in time to implement it, and always it was big surprises for his partners, me and everybody around. I saw so many times the look of guys, where is this knife came from? The other discoveries coming from my own body pain, when I realized that I was cut like a lamb, when I work with Vladimir, attacking him with punches kicks holds and knife. I noticed, that during attack or after I completed attack and Vladimir took me down, the normal human reaction was to grab something or somebody (like Vlad), while you falling or look and grab a support such as Vladimir’s legs or body. However, that human (me) forgets that the person has a knife and any time, when I was grabbing or extending my limbs, I opened my all vital organs and veins. I felt Vladimir’s knife there right the way and probably in real life would be killed instantly or life about 15-30 minutes with my wounds. Conclusion, do not try to grab person with the knife, keep your limbs together even you falling and move. The other Vladimir’s knife works with me still shocking my mind and I was pleasantly surprised and glad that I discovered it. I was attacking him with a knife from different positions standing, sitting, laying down and Vladimir in one case patiently moved and waited for the stub in anther case, he pock or stab right the way. After this one stub, I found my body, arm did not really want to continue confrontation, it wants to lay down or step away without next attack. I discovered that Vladimir watched me and my arm muscles and he uses one stab into my arm or shoulder, where he sees most tension. I felt that this one stub to tension completely relaxed my body through a sharp pain and I did not have any wish to continue any confrontation. Well, I just learned the quick way out from knife fight without leaving other person dead or bleeding to death. I always keep in my mind the old Russian (SOU) saying:”Better ten wounded than one dead”. It fit this work precisely. I am still processing the second half of the seminar, but the memory of the warm ups push up on the human body, which laying down, standing or trying to stand under your body weight and the fist, are still fresh. There were excellent body preparation for the strikes and guys you should try it in your classes, you will feel great. I would recall more and put my thoughts together later as second half was rough for me as Vladimir used me for the different punches effect demonstration, where he first explained what would happen with a body when he hits it on the such way, than he strikes me and everybody was observing what happening with me, while I was trying to recover through the pain with the breathing and the pray. The more scary and more amazing for me were invisible strikes, when Vladimir were striking me on the move and ether his shoulders or hands and fists did not show any aggression or power, but the they sudden created such sharp pain and surprise as I was asking my believes: “ How this can happen?” I survived though it , using core principle of Systema-Relaxation, Breathing, keeping the Form and Moving (sometimes not really in the right direction, but still moving) and after I analyzed and understood what Vladimir opened us on Austin seminar, I am happy to share with all Systema community. Indeed, I would like to thank you Vladimir and his family and all seminar participants with whom I worked out those days. I am grateful to Vladimir for opening new treasure boxes of Systema and forcing to understand us more deep aspects behind it. Thank you very much to Gene, Jonathan Fabian and my friend Rick for organizing this event and their hospitality in Austin Texas. If anybody has any questions, do not hesitate contact me: belpil@hotmail.com or 480-650-5012(cell)


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-02-27 01:55:37
Displaying 151 to 160 (of 271 reviews) <  Previous  ... 16  17  18  19  20 ...  Next  >