Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Achille, 186 words )

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to attend the Breathing, Health, and Combat Seminar on Nov 20th. I can only say that it was an absolute amazing and mind blowing experience. The information provided by Vladimir and Valentin is so useful not only for Systema but for increasing your level of health and can be easily shared with members of your family and friends. I would recommend the seminar to anyone as it will definitely take you to new levels of understanding. Like many lessons in Systema the true fight is within ourselves and how we deal with our own fears. This Seminar not only reinforced that concept but explored many ways to help overcome them and build ones psyche and spirit. Valentin and Vladimir are so sincere and genuine it was a true pleasure learning from them. I would like to express my sincere thanks to them both (and of course Valerie) and I am honored to of been able to take part in a truly insightful and life changing event. I would highly recommend this seminar without hesitation or reservation to anyone no matter the experience level.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-16 11:36:29
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by David Orman, 154 words ) www.cflsystema.com

This seminar was exception. Much different than the prior one I attended in May. More detailed and technically oriented. I also greatly appreciated the small group size and thus, personal attention from Vladimir. With 30 or so students, he was able to work 1-on-1 and make adjustments and needed corrections, allow us to move forward on our path. Each day was built upon the prior one; that is, we learned the ABCs prior to words, prior to sentence structure. For example, proper structure and breathing was taught prior to working with strikes, knifes etc. I appreciated the individual instruction, the group energy and the exceptional material presented. Breathing correctly really is the common thread through all the work in Systema -- from knife training to kick defense and everywhere in between. This seminar is THE standard for Systema breath training. It is a must for all who have a passion for this wonderful art.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-12-09 13:18:33
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Gaston Pratt, 356 words )

I'm not one to blow smoke so, when I first learned of the Seminar, I thought "great another one of Mikhails' students co-teaching with Vlad. Just two days before the seminar I learned there would be Vlad only. I gave a shoulder shrug and thought to myself "I'm in it regardless of who shows up or not". As I sat on the mat in the first few minutes of the seminar I felt a little disappointed that Valentin, the guest instructor, had not shown. That feeling left rather quickly moments after I saw Vlad walk into the room. He gave me a feeling of comfort, possibly due to his composed manner and my familiarity with him. Vlad had set up a video conference to receive instruction everyday and giving us exposure to Valentin. It was the next best thing to being there and worked very well. The pace and movement was done so well I left calm but energized every evening. Snacks were provided at lunch and in the evening as well as the handing out of notebooks and pens for note taking. I am still attempting to sort through the entire weekend of information. Breathing is life, I was once told. This seminar gave me a new perspective and plenty of information on breathing which I am still unable to completely absorb. I feel as an ant placed in a jar and having a few grains of sugar poured on itself and thinking how wonderful this is. Then over the course of three days having a whole box of sugar poured into the jar and at first thinking, "wow this is great", but then realizing, how am I going to digest all this and who knows how long it will take me. It's great to have but I can only eat a grain at a time. That being said, given all this sugar, I hope to one day become a very fat ant and can't wait for the next meal.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-11-20 17:39:05
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by Glenn Murphy, 271 words ) www.revolutionselfdefense.com

In a word: phenomenal. In two words: life-changing. As always, Vladimir delivered far above expectations. Which, for me, were pretty high to begin with. I learned more about what the System really is in these three short days than in all of my previous years of study combined. Vladimir expertly coached us through hours of non-stop walking, running and movement drills. All the while, we focused on matching breathing perfectly with motion, and using the breath to dissipate all physical and emotional tension as we worked. I gained an all-new understanding of what tension is, and how the breath is the indispensable key to free, natural movement - in a martial arts context or otherwise. Meanwhile, Valentin - in a pioneering "Skype Systema class" experiment, led exercises and drills from Russia, generously imparting vast reams of his expansive knowledge on breathwork for health, recovery, maintaining calm under attack, and more. At the end of it all, I returned home feeling happy, unassailably calm, and more solid, somehow. I feel like At the risk of sounding dramatic, I feel like I've received an invaluable gift, the value of which I've only just begun to appreciate. This seminar was a humbling and exhilarating experience. Through it, I've realized just how little I knew, and how much I still have to learn. I'm looking forward to a lifetime of study and self-discovery using the tools Vladimir and Valentin have provided. My heartfelt thanks to everyone who made this event possible. And thanks, too, to all the friends - old and new - I worked with last week in Toronto. Great to see you all.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-11-24 09:54:53
BREATHING, HEALTH and COMBAT seminar ( by gene smithson, 322 words )

Systema is a simple martial art. It stems from a simple method of developing a human being. This is not to say that it is easy, because it is not. There are no belt progressions to mark your progress and another kata or technique to learn. These things are added to, are superficial to...you. Systema asks us to understand ourselves. "Oh I do" check the box and whats the next move or topic. Nope, sorry grasping mind. There is only and ever a deeper understanding of ourselves. Going into this breathing seminar I was so excited. Finally the secrets revealed that would make it easy for me to do the magical things that Vlad does, that Konstantin does, that Mikhael himself does. Day one, walk and breathe and study myself. What!? What is this!? We do this all the time. Frustration begins to creep in...and then I see, the frustration is causing tension, it is tension and now no technique can help me. But breathing can, prayer can. I give myself over to Vlad and Valentin and do the exercises they say do...slowly slowly the mystery is beginning to unravel. In my mind I am back in Tuscon with Konstantin exhorting, clubbing, demanding that we study OURSELVES. I am hearing Vlad, "You must study your tension." breathe breathe breathe. Valentin's voice and face, you must breathe. Vlad, who I love so much, valiantly not allowing himself to become frustrated with us. "Tension", he says and points. Breathe and breathe and breathe. At the end of the three days, I have some new drills for sure, and they are excellent ones yes, deep ones. But, mostly I have a new humility. How stubborn I am, how weak and vain and prideful. And I am understanding the Systema is for developing the WHOLE person, that breathing is a fundamental tool we have for evolving ourselves...maybe maybe I am ready to begin studying Systema. gene


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-11-25 17:00:02
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in West Point, Virginia ( by Glenn Murphy, 494 words )

Just wanted to take this opportunity to thank Vladimir, Kwan, Martin, Brandon and everyone at ITI who helped bring us all together for last weekend's superb seminar at West Point. As usual, Vladimir's instruction and demonstrations were unparalleled. Across two days of being crushed, beaten, and crammed into spaces wholly too small for the human body, we gradually learned and reinforced the principles of working in confined spaces. The lessons learned were many: using the breath and shifting tension around the body to stay comfortable; using subtle closework to neutralise attacks where moving the feet is impossible; using hard surfaces like steering wheels, door frames and aeroplane armrests to trap, pin and gain compliance. And much, much more. As if this wasn't enough, senior instructors Kwan Lee and Martin Wheeler offered top-quality drills and tips of their own - worthy of a separate seminar in their own right. Kwan's Friday-night pre-seminar warmup was spot-on, and had us all fully relaxed and ready to work on Saturday morning. Martin's hyper-efficient "car fight" work was fascinating to observe and immediately effective in practice. This will all, no doubt, prove extremely useful for security and law enforcement professionals who have to face scenarios like this on a regular basis. But what really made this seminar unique was the venue. How often do you get the chance to roll repeatedly across the roof of someone else's Grand Prix, or roll around the cabin of a real DC-9? (At least without being arrested soon afterwards). The plane, for me, was the high point. Not just for the useful closework practice, nor even for the all-in 40-person brawl at the end (although this was some of the best fun I've had in my entire life). For me, the more simple work that centred on safely escaping a downed plane was the most practical. Though I hope I never have to use it in a real emergency, just learning to move comfortably around a crowded plane - and how to get quickly around panicking people when you have to - has made me more confident and relaxed about flying in general. I fly pretty often, yet still feel tense for the greater portion of each flight. Feeling prepared for the worst helps alleviate that unhealthy tension. After all, it's everyday, psychosomatic stresses like this that usually kill us - by degrees - rather than terrorists or malfunctioning engines. Learning to apply Systema to help me relax more into this part of my normal, working life was, unexpectedly, probably the most valuable lesson I took away from the weekend. I very much hope Brandon gets the chance to host Vladimir at ITI again next year or the year after. If he does, be sure not to miss it - it's one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences you'll never forget. Thanks again to Vladimir, Kwan, Martin, Brandon and Mike at ITI, and everyone I so enjoyed training with over the weekend. Great to see you all.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-10-09 10:20:54
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in West Point, Virginia ( by Denis D., 882 words ) www.ctsystema.com

I was waiting patiently for this seminar about 6 month to 1 year. Everything began, when Brandon said the word airplane, I was hook right the way as some of you know, I spend the last 20 years sitting in the front of the airplane, making my living. I was very excited to see, how Systema will work in the stressful situation and such unusual space and an object. Pilots take years to train for the emergency situations and it takes the experience to stay calm and cool in the bad situation, continue doing your job without panic. The tribute of these professionals, the work of the flight 1549, where my co-workers did the job in the calm and precise manner, doing everything by the book and saving a lot of lives. This NTSB investigation data recording, you can see and hear how crew work calmly without letting any panic to take over: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWpSAfF6elI However, I was wondering also, what could be happening on the back of the airplane, after crash landing, and can you survive the crash or hostage situation, when uncontrolled crowed moving all over you as I travel often in the cabin too? In this seminar Vladimir answered my questions and gave me and other guys the great tools for survival in this kind of situations. The keys for survival are the core of Systema: Relaxation, Breathing, Posture and Constant Movement. I think, I understand the importance of the first day of training and preparation, which we spend in the gym only, when I did end up on the plane a second day. The whole first day we practice how to recognize the tension and relaxation under stress, for example: how could be relaxed and breath under the pressure, when couple bodies fell or sat on you, how to get up, when somebody pushing you down, holding you or punching you, how to be soft and relax and slightly tense to create body movement, when somebody kicks you in restricted space, how to breathe in the moment of crash or impact, how to work short and invisible with you punches or kicks, short work in restricted space and etc. You cannot named it all, the first day really opened my mind on thing, which is stressfully in gym enough, but even more stressful in the plane or car. Key point from Vladimir that stack in my mind: be Soft and Relax , when you are moving in the restricted space as people tends to feel and tend to grab , and hold for the tense one, like an old fellow or lady, when you gave them a hand for support, if it relax they do not feel it, they tapped several times until they find tension in the hand or shoulder, than they happy to hold you. I tested this theory in the practice next day on board of the plane and found that it was true, when you tense and feel cool moving through the crowd, some how everybody wants to hold, grab or punch you, and now you trying to move everybody with you wasting valuable time and energy for survival. The second day we work in side the airplane and cars, but I felt more relax in the car as I realized that car can always stop and the ground is very close to the car floor anyway to be afraid to fall. The plane inside with a tight sit space and aisle and people around, creates unforgettable feeling, even the work, which we have done day before in the gym looked new and clumsy, when you started doing them in such a restricted space. The other Key point from Vladimir made my head cool right the way: The Airplane is Hijacked 2 times, one by hijackers, another by Special Forces, so professional will fight with professionals and you need to survive in the middle of that mess. The most stressful time for me, when I was moving almost on the floor in the aisle, when everybody fighting and moving in the cabin. I realized that you have to be very soft, swift and patient as it very easy to stuck between seats and fighting people, also it was very big chance to get injured even in the training environment, if you not soft and relax. The most pleasant moment, learning real short work in the cabin and cockpit, how to move bad people out of their seats and how to protect cockpit from intruders, also working inside the cars, feeling the possibilities of environment working for you. Indeed, I want to finish with words that friend of mine, who was training along me on the seminar said: “I think, this seminar was the best in my life.” The seminar met and exceeded my expectations. Thank you very much Brandon, Kristen, and both Mikes for organizing such event and giving a chance to use your facilities for such specialized training. Thank you all friends, instructors and everybody, who I work with to keep me alive and encourage with a punches and kicks. I am grateful to Vladimir and his family, taking the time, sharing and showing such a real experience, how you can live and survive under the stress, and different unfortunate circumstance in the airplane or the car. I hope, we can do such a specialized topics more often.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-10-11 03:51:09
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in West Point, Virginia ( by Gaston Pratt, 93 words )

Of course the seminar in Virginia was nothing less than excellent. Whenever you have Vladimir and some of his top students, ie: Martin and Kwan as for some others, it can only make it great. The facility and use of its' apparatus made for exceptional and uncommon training. If this had been an opera there wouldn't have been a dry eye in the house. Thank you Brandon, Mike and Mike, as with the rest of the guys from ITI, for a seminar that was way overdue. See you at the next curtain call.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-10-17 11:18:50
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in West Point, Virginia ( by S, 37 words ) www.revolutionselfdefense.com

very interesting tactics for defending yourself while in or around your car. In addition, confined spaces defense was taught while learning to fight in an airplane. Truly the most unique self defense seminar I have ever attended.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2015-02-10 09:53:11
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Hiroyasu Fujimori, 103 words )

Thank you very much for your teaching on Tokyo. It was very worthy for me to understand the relation between breath and relaxation. Especially,I was teached relux by you,when I was striked to my face and I moved my head along the arm of my opponent.And I was led to breath by you,when I felt the tension. That was good experience for me. By the way,when I was striked with my eyes closed,you striked me quietly.I've got a great impact,but it stay just for a little while. Is it the effect of the relux,isn't it? So,I'm waiting for the next Seminer with preasure. Until then,please take care of yourself.


Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-07-26 04:01:13
Displaying 141 to 150 (of 271 reviews) <  Previous  ... 11  12  13  14  15 ...  Next  >