Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Curt G. Boyle, 157 words )

I attended all 3 days of the seminar. The explanations on the movements and and strikes helped me take another step forward in my journey in learning Systema. I'm also glad they went into detail about the reasons why we do pushups, situps, and squats. It was great to be able to train with other people serious about Systema and who are looking to grow in their own knowledge of Systema and to grow within themselves as I did during this seminar. Mikhael and Vladimir gave in formation that will be very useful for my line of work. There was just so much inforamtion given that it's hard to narrow down the best part of it. It will take me time to digest all of it. It was great to see Vladimir again and to meet Mikhael for the first time. I'm glad it won't be the last. I look forward to the next time I can train with them.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-07 19:43:11
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Vali Majd, 119 words )

To propely review this seminar, i'd have to first and foremost be able to process the mountain of info that was presented (it'd take a long time). Some of the most important highlights were the precision with which Mikhail Ryabko can strike, the very interesting ways of hidding strikes, so they appear out of "nowhere". The many interesting way of discovering personal natural movement and personal "katas". Overall, i managed to overcome barriers and survive situations which one would think of as impossible. The stick demonstration by Vladmir was truly incredible. Inspiring, educational, brutal, real, friendly, professional are but a few of the words that come to mind. Thanks all for making this event unforgettable.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-08 17:58:04
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Peter Annazone, 223 words )

Great Seminar in N.Y.C. The New York City Seminar hosted by Edgar Tsakouls at the Fighthouse with Mikhail Ryabko and Vladimir Vasiliev was a super seminar. There were lots of old and new friends. A Lot of effective work in a gentle way. Mikhail and Vladimir emphasized work should be done slow for real benefit. Also Mikhail’s explanation of how the body functions during work and exercise was interesting to me. In working with Mikhail and Vladimir it always amazed me. The level of physical, mental and psychic knowledge they work in. In Seminars, I try to move around the room and work with as many people as possible to have a variety of work. Everyone works differently. Some have tension and others are soft. This is a good learning experience for me. Learning how to adjust to your partner. Also I like their opinions about the system. All comments were favorable, from “I love the system” to “This is for me”. Everyone liked the professional approach of teaching and the freedom of self- expression. If you didn’t make New York City Seminar, make sure you don’t miss the great opportunity in the future to work with two of the world’s greatest teachers, willing to share their art, and friendship with all. God Bless, Peter Annazone


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-11 13:57:37
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Michael Bogomolsky, 37 words )

Great seminar!!! I attended all 3 days, and I think it was amazing, pace, material covered, different levels of partners (with different martial backgrounds). And I think most pleasant thing is to see two Great Masters together.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-11 11:26:31
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Rick Ybarra, 228 words )

This being my first Systema seminar, I have to say what an incredible experience I had. Mikhail & Vladimir presented & demonstrated many aspects of this amazing art. It was truly extraordinary to hear Mikhail's philosophy on movement, relaxation, generating power in striking...& perhaps one of the most fascinating elements of this art...the "hidden" strikes. Vladimir is truly the "instructor's instructor" and has the amazing ability to teach through explaination, illustration and demonstration. Thank you Mikhail & Vladimir for a truly memorable and extraordinary seminar experience and for sharing your gifts with us. I met many wonderful individuals at the seminar...many like myself who traveled great distances to seek this knowledge and experience. I wish to thank all my new Systema brothers and sisters who shared their knowledge and personal experieces with me. Lastly, I would be remiss if I did not recognize the wonderful hosts of this seminar...Edgar Tsakouls and Peggy Chau and the staff of Fighthouse, NYC. They did a phenomenal job in planning, coordinating, and hosting this event, and making sure all their guest needs were taken care of. It takes a tremendous amount of work and months of preparation to host an event of this type. Once again, thank you Fighthouse for a job well done. Final message to Mikhail & Vladimir: I can't wait for next year (hopefully sooner)!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-11 22:40:47
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Paul Bacanovic, 119 words )

This was by far the best martial arts training that I have ever received (and I have studied several different fighting styles over the past decade or two). First and foremost, we were lucky enough to have both Mikhail Ryabko and Vladimir Vasiliev with us. Mikhail and Vladimir’s knowledge and practical experience is unique. I have never seen anyone with their ability to explain difficult and elegant fighting concepts in such a simple and straightforward manner. However, what was truly remarkable was Mikhail’s ability to explain the philosophy behind Systema, and how that philosophy translates into the fluid movements, breathing, striking and weapon techniques that characterize this martial arts form. Thank you very much Mikhail and Vladimir.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-13 15:40:49
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Jay Guerin, 98 words )

This seminar was fantastic. What I most liked about it was how it showed me so many of the weaknesses and deficiencies in my own training system. I also was amazed at the knowledge and expertise of the instructors. To watch Mr. Vasiliev demonstrate and see the calm look on his face, even smiling at times as he was taking his partners to the ground ... that's what did it for me. There is nothing more enjoyable than watching a true "master" at work and then to actually get training directly from that person.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-13 21:26:09
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Frank Fileti, 202 words )

I'm not really sure where to begin to explain my experience at this seminar. But what I can say is my meeting with Mikhail for the first time was a truly amazing experience that touched me way beyond the physical. They say many look, but few see.I did more than that, I saw, felt, breathed, lived, laughed, cried, and sweat. but most of all I believed. It was an experience far more than I expected. Im not really sure what I expected, but I do know it was a true blessing. Thanks to Vlad my good friend and teacher who I'v trained with for about six years now. who has shown me the way of systema in a way that has totally changed my life. Also thanks to Edgars, for bringing every one together! and getting to see and train with all my friends again. I have to say, I have been hit many times before, but this time I was touched in a way that cleansed my soul, and strenthened my spirit. Thank you Mikhail and Vlad for your clean, subtle movements, amazing use of energy, unbelievable insight, inspiring kindness and humour, overwhelming power and absolute control. Thanks! Hope to see every one soon!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-10 02:04:20
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by Mark Jakabcsin, 682 words )

As always after a seminar I find it difficult to write, my mind is so full of thoughts and I struggle to wrap my arms around the material presented. This is a good thing. The shear joy of being exposed to new material and seeing old material in a new light is very exhilarating. This seminar exceeded my every expectation and I can’t adequately express how happy I am that I attended. My deepest thanks to Mikhail, Vladimir, Edgar, Peggy and all those that attended. Each of you helped make it a very special weekend. Thank you. While I have trouble putting everything into words, many of you know I don’t have trouble filling the page with words. Hence I won’t try to review the entire seminar, impossible, and I’ll try to avoid recapping what has already been written, which is lots of good posts. With that in mind, following are a few items that stick out in my mind. - This seminar helped me better understand the use of shoulders when striking. I finally started to see/understand (slightly) that the shoulders don’t move in relation to the body, the body moves in relation to the target. This makes it very difficult for the target to see the punch coming. Hence my inability to move when Mikhail was caressing my jaw and ample chin. Since I am a tactile learner this was definitely the highlight for me, even if it meant eating Jell-O and soup for the past few days.  - During the beginning of one of our long push-ups Vladimir said something along the lines that this exercise will help you learn about yourself. A few weeks before in Toronto I had experienced the joy of the 10+ minute push-up, hence Vladimir’s words took on instant meaning for me and helped a great deal. At the beginning of the exercise I am excited and my ego takes over. I know I can perform well and I look forward to doing well. Then the pain and discomfort kick in and I start making excuses on why it would be OK to stop and I feel sorry for myself. Eventually I simply accept the situation and get down to breathing and simply surviving. Ego, pity, acceptance. Now I just need to figure out how to skip the first two and go straight to acceptance. - Even though others have pointed this out I think it is so important I want to say it again. Mikhail and Vladimir continually stressed the need for precession in our work and the way to learn precession is to slow down. I will be stressing this in class for a long time to come. - Invisible work. In a discussion with Vladimir he stressed the need for me to make my work invisible. I believe this is one of the points Mikhail also stressed, although maybe not verbally but visually throughout the seminar. Making each movement with as little motion as possible and without the telltale early signs. How? Simple. Don’t try to do the work, simply do it. Don’t show the work to the world, simply do it and move on. For me personally this means absence of ego. - The last day when doing push-ups Vladimir made a comment about not doing push-ups from the shoulders/chest but doing the work/motion from the fists. This was how we should punch. I will explore this in the classes to come but it struck a cord of truth for me. - I absolutely loved the drill towards the end where #1 and #2 walk towards each other, then when in range strike each other at the same time. Working on striking and strike absorption at the same instant: awesome. Thanks Mikhail, this will quickly become a standard in South Carolina. While all of the above is great stuff the best part is the energy and attitude of everyone at the seminar. I feel very fortunate to be a small part of such an amazing group and look forward to seeing each of you again. Take care. Mark J.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-11 11:24:10
Vladimir Vasiliev Seminar in Manhattan, NY ( by LYLE-M CADY, 106 words )

The Manhattan seminar with Mikhail and Vladimir was an amazing experience for me. Thanks to everyone at Fighthouse who made it possible and of course to Mikhail and Vladimir for their expert instruction. I truly felt like a better person afterwards and could see the change in all who attended. By the end of the seminar we all had smiles on our faces as big as Mikhail and Vladimir's because of all that we had learned about the system and about ourselves. I hope that there will be more seminars of this kind in the future. It was an honor to learn from the best.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2005-06-10 20:01:42
Displaying 121 to 130 (of 271 reviews) <  Previous  ... 11  12  13  14  15 ...  Next  >