Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

Russian Martial Art Seminar in Montreal, Canada ( by Alex Bessey, 52 words )

WOW! This seminar was an amazing expeiriance. Not only were the instructors great there were numerous ppl who were on hand to give tips and advice on helping me train, relax, move, ect. ( this was my first seminar definatly not my last) Thank You to all who helped me.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2006-08-10 21:27:52
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Montreal, Canada ( by Milad Bozorgnia, 393 words )

Another absolutely phenomenal seminar put together by master teacher, Kevin Secours. The event was preceeded by a free two hour class the night before where one of Kevin's senior students Mike led a terrific warm-up and movement session that left everyone feeling refreshed and enrgized, relieving the tightness and any stress of traveling to Montreral. Our master Vlad began the first day with some terrific breathing and warm-up exercises and focused on work from a sitting position against single and multiple opponents that were standing and moving. The exercise with the 4 foot staff between the partners was absolutely brilliant as it instilled softness and sensitivity along with timing in using the stick or not! Few of us cramped throughout the first day which was a testament to the intensity of the work and in my case lack of proper hydration and adequate regular training on the ground. Vlad was there however to help heal us and he generously went beyond the finsih time to explain and demonstrate some concepts and techniques of healing which he suggested to cover at the next seminar. As always, it was an honor and a wonderful opportunity to train with this amazing person. Day two began with an impressive showing of the majority of participants despite a rather intense day of training on Sat. Perhaps also a testament to Martin's talent and knowledge. The warm-up was proceeded by some in-depth look at the armbar and the rear naked choke. Martin explored different variations and entries. Even though the information was fairly basic, there were many subtleties and useful information presented to make it worthwhile for even a seasoned grappler. I particularly enjoyed the concept of lenghtening the opponent prior to taking an arm or a leg. Very useful. Perhaps one of the most beautiful demonstrations of the seminar was the ground flow drill between Kevin and Martin which was mesmerizing and inspiring. All in all, it was a terrific seminar and time well spent. Thanks to Kevin for organizing such an amazing and impressive gathering in a fantastic trainig facility and my gratitude to Vlad and Martin for sharing their knowledge and terrific energy. A big thank you to all the participants and training partners without whom, the learning would not have been possible.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2007-08-22 12:03:11
SPRING TRAINING WEEK ( by Joe, 86 words )

Thank you very much for an incredible two days! The SYSTEMA COMPREHENSIVE seminar was AMAZING! You gave us so much knowledge that I am still trying to digest all the lessons learned.I found your Systema to be an amazing combination of physics, physiology, psychology and spirituality. The essence seems to embody the beauty of simplicity and the principles can easily be applied to many fields of life. I will keep on practicing with your videos and will hopefully make it to your next seminar. Thanks again!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2007-05-31 17:48:53
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Aya Watanabe, 221 words )

Thank you so much to our greatest Mikhail, Vladimir and Daniel for coming to Japan for the "Masters in Japan" seminar. People I usually train with, their eys glowed at the sight of the three Masters, and seeing them asking to show us stuff, was quite a touching sight to me. They asked so many questions that in some cases the three of them couldn't go back to the hotel. When I saw that, I was so moved as I then realised that they truly were here in Japan with us. During their stay, we witnessed the fact that they get on well with famous Japanese masters, that made us see that our Masters are way cool! The push-up that Daniel showed us inspired me. It was very smooth and free movement. It was more than enough to change the way that I train from now on. As for the knife work, I was advised "to move our hand to the point naturally". This made me realise how important it was to move with confidence in ourselves. Lastly but not least, I would like to thank our wonderful instructor, Andy and Scott, and of course all of the staff members who supported the seminar, and all the participants and Edgars Tsakouls & Ed Whalen who came to join us from far away.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2007-09-20 20:49:31
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Takahide Kitagawa, 55 words )

Tokyo seminar great succeeded!!!!!!!! Master's teaching and skill enchanted Japanese Budo-practicians. Especially, the demonstration of the Katana by Michael was wonderful. This is not only uniting of the Russian culture and the Japanese culture. Mikhail showed "synergy effect" of two cultures. That is amazing experience. Thank you very much for Mikhail ,Vladimir,Daniil ,all staffs and all of participants.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2007-09-18 08:47:13
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Ryo ichi Onishi, 328 words ) http://www.systemaosaka.jp/

It was great to have Mikhail, Vladimir & Daniill in Japan. We would consider ourselves to be more than lucky to have one of them over here and yet we had three in one go! How lucky are we! When Mikhail used weapons of any kind it was the same as when he used his fists. The movement was so smooth and effortless and yet it felt like there was nothing he could not move.... Japanese people came up with the shape of the Japanese sword, and developed it over thousands of years so they should know ALL the most efficient moves. Yet when Mikhail had it in his hand, it moved beautifully, not in the "Japanese way" but it was EXTREMELY effective. He was even using the two handed sword with one hand! It was amazing. Mikhail told us over dinner that it was because he understands the psychology of the weapon. When Vladimir demonstrates techniques it is so effective and yet so natural. I can see he is not trying to find any technique, just letting the technique find him. His movement has no pre-movement signals and subsequent tension. They are the by-products of a situation and not the designated outcome, hence the natural responsiveness never gets interrupted. It was just amazing to watch the smoothness and naturalness of his movements. Daniill 's movement was also very smooth. Some of his demonstrations made me realise that I needed to look deeper into things I thought I was reasonably confident at. He was kind enough to give me some advice on my movements, which was very helpful. I have learnt a lot from being with Mikhail, Vladimir and Daniill, both in and out of training. Not just physically but also mentally and psychologically. I cannot find the words to express my feelings but something clicked and I can already feel the change in me. I don't know how to express my gratitude except to keep trying System's way of living. Ryo


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2007-09-25 01:35:48
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by AI, 30 words )

I enjoyed very much! Especialy, rolling and remove the guy layig on me without power was interesting for me. I participated only first day,so next time, I want to ateend all days!!


Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-07-23 10:56:18
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Takahide Kitagawa, 139 words ) http://systemablog.blog54.fc2.com/

The seminar of Tokyo was a big success. The venue is far from the center of Tokyo. However, over the 90 participants gathered. Of course, Vlad satisfied all members. Day and night is opposite in Japan and Canada. The normal person might suffer from the jet lag. However, his movement had not become weak at all. In addition, he healed the participant. I want to introduce one episode. One SystemaJapan staff get stomachache. Vlad that noticed it massaged his belly. Then, stomachache was lost. He enjoyed beer on that night. Perhaps, this is a small miracle,compared with true power of Systema. However, enough to tell about geniality,depth and peaceful of Systema. I say the big thanks to the visit to Japan of Vlad. His influence is to reach not only the martial artist in Japan but also a lot of people.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-07-23 08:37:14
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Tokyo, Japan ( by Aya Watanabe, 68 words )

Many Thanks to Vladimir and to all the guys who made this seminar possible. This was great experience for me (and my daughter). I learned importance happy workout with humor and smile without being hurt. This seminar had best atmosphere of the participants that I experienced till now in Japan. It must be because there is your being. I look forward to the seminar of the next year!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2009-07-23 08:51:42
Russian Martial Art Seminar in Longmont, Colorado ( by Charles Long, 339 words )

This was only the second time I've had a chance to train live. The last time was 6 years ago. Mainly I have the videos and myself. I did hear some good news at the seminar for people like me. Martin Wheeler told me he has a video coming out in a few months on training alone so that is something I will definitely buy. During the seminar, I learned a lot and it's nice to be able to practice live. I think everybody I partnered with were way more advanced than I am and some were perfectly willing to not take their turn on the drills to work with me and help me along. I met some great people there. I think the seminar could have been a lot better had they changed the order some. On Saturday, we did mostly striking drills. I wish we would have done the grappling and various movement drill on Saturday and the striking on Sunday. Since I don't have a chance to train live, I'm not used to taking a punch. I got beat to a pulp basically so I wasn't near as affective as I could have been on Day 2 nor could I put all I had into it. I hurt so bad at times, I could barely move. It turns out that reason why was some overzealous attendee cracked one of my ribs on day one. At this very moment (Moday after) any movement on my right side is limited and very painful. I also broke my big toe on my left foot Sunday morning during a grappling drill but that was minor compared to the rib thing. So the whole thing would have been better if the striking would have taken place later instead of first. At least I would have enjoyed it much more. Vladimir was his usual amazing self to no one's surprise. Overall, I did learn but could have learned much more had the injury not taken place in the morning on day one.


Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2007-03-12 20:34:34
Displaying 191 to 200 (of 271 reviews) <  Previous  ... 16  17  18  19  20 ...  Next  >